NaNoWriMo: The Islands Beyond, Day 10

Day 10

November is now 1/3 over, and the pincers are beginning to close. NaNoWriMo stops for no man. It’s been good to challenge myself to keep writing. If I were writing this according to my normal rhythm, I probably would have convinced myself that I needed to give it a break, take few days off of writing. I’d have gone back and slowly written a bit more into my character’s personalities. I’d have supplied more genuine responses to the strange things that are going on. My wife’s feedback that the boys seemed a little too cool (yes, pun intended) with ending up stranded on an icy island, far from home, would have made me throw down my writer’s hammer and dig my editorial hacksaw out of the drawer.

But instead, I’ve just kept writing. The day was busier than most, and so I ended 266 words shy of “par”, at 16400 words. The nice thing is that I know what I want to write tomorrow. Here’s a brief excerpt from the day’s writing:

Beyond the seawall lay the harbour. A few tall ships with two and even three masts were anchored here, as well as some smaller boats. Lights flickered onboard one or two, but most seemed to be abandoned. The crews, it seemed, were all on shore, perhaps enjoying a hot meal in an inn. The boys’ stomachs growled loudly at the thought of food. They hadn’t eaten since lunch, and they were tired of dried fish. A bowl of stew sounded just about perfect.

About jackfrey
Jack Frey lives somewhere in Northeast Asia with his wife and two young boys. He finds the letter K to be the most aesthetically pleasing of all the consonants, in both its upper and lowercase forms. Like many of us, he is currently seeking publication of his first novel.

Leave a Reply

