NaNoWriMo: The Islands Beyond, Day 7

Day 7

The days keep coming, and I keep writing.  Today I finished a section that I’d plotted more carefully. For at least the next 20,000 words or so, I’ll be working from a more loosely developed plot. Basically, I’m aiming for mileposts.  Who knows? I may plot it more closely over the next few days.  Here’s an excerpt:

“My dear boy,” Henry Hudson said finally, “I have been a sailor for many years, and of all the things I’ve learned, this fact stands out the most. There are things that occur at sea that could never be on land. Strange storms and lightning that flickers across the sky like a spider’s web. Mermaids and sirens. Gargantuan sea-beasts. These things I have all seen.” He moved his arm in a sweeping gesture that took in the entire island. “That I should be here now, in a different world, as you say, when just weeks ago my son and I were marooned in the frigid waters of the Arctic, does not surprise me one bit.”

About jackfrey
Jack Frey lives somewhere in Northeast Asia with his wife and two young boys. He finds the letter K to be the most aesthetically pleasing of all the consonants, in both its upper and lowercase forms. Like many of us, he is currently seeking publication of his first novel.

Leave a Reply

