NaNoWriMo: The Islands Beyond, Day 6

Day 6

A fun day of writing. The scene I wrote today had been in my mind more or less since the inception of the story idea, and so it was satisfying to see it emerge on paper. The boys meet an old man whose job (or role?) it is to welcome newcomers to the Islands Beyond. I’d originally planned to make him a hoary and austere figure, but he wriggled out of his shell and surprised me by being a playful and almost silly man.

I ended at 11325 words.  Still ahead of the game! Here’s an excerpt:

“Ah yes, your father. He sailed into the storm after you. It was a storm that should have overturned his boat and killed him. But like you, he was spared. He was pulled away from his own world and brought to this one instead.”

The words took a little while to sink it. When Ethan realized what the old man had said, he shot forward onto his knees.

“Wait, what did you say?” he asked.

The old man was unperturbed. “Surely you must have guessed it yourself by now.”

He waited, giving the boys time to reach their own conclusions.

“I wondered if it might be true,” said Pete. “The ocean was too big and too grey.”

“I guess I did, too,” said Ethan.

“You are intelligent boys, and you are fortunate to have one another in this strange, new world.” He smiled again, and touched his wrinkled hand to his chest. “My name is Enoch, and as you can see, I am very old. So old, in fact, that I’ve lost count of the years. But right now, I don’t think you want to hear about me. It is your father you are interested in.”

The boys nodded. Ethan asked, “Is he on this island?”

“Yes, but not close at hand. He came to me a month ago, and I sent him on to Fikskoljan to wait for you.”

Pete tilted his head to one side. “Fisko-what?”

“Fikskoljan,” said Enoch. “The largest town, where you will find the Governor of the Islands Beyond.”

“Islands beyond what?” asked Ethan.

“Everything.”

Ethan frowned. “How can something be beyond everything?”

“Your father wondered the same thing.”

About jackfrey
Jack Frey lives somewhere in Northeast Asia with his wife and two young boys. He finds the letter K to be the most aesthetically pleasing of all the consonants, in both its upper and lowercase forms. Like many of us, he is currently seeking publication of his first novel.

Leave a Reply

