I Didn’t Die, and I’m Trying NaNoWriMo Again

In the two years since I last posted anything to this blog, I have not been dead. All intact, vitals good.

The last post saw me mired in the morass of NaNoWriMo, struggling to push my story forward, lost without a compass, et cetera, et cetera.

The untold part of the story is that I bailed out on the event a few day later, ending at 25,001 words. At the time, I felt as if I’d fallen short of more than just the 50,000-word mark–I had really wanted to finish the story I was working on. But participating provided valuable insight into how I wrote at the time. I realized that I spent a lot of time shaping each sentence, pre-editing before the words ever got onto the page. That can make for good writing, but it also meant that I didn’t get much of it done at once.

I look back at what I wrote during my 2012 experience, and I see that I was trying write slowly (that is, with the same level of self-editing and literary flair), but also trying to do it quickly. The result was a story that was full of half-spun metaphors and similes, allusions to things that never materialized, and characters that were ultimately left stranded on a deserted island (literally).

I’ve decided to try NaNoWriMo again, but with a different approach. I still write slowly (that 50,000-word mark will still be a challenge), but I’m going to work with a different strategy. This year, I’m writing something that is looser and intentionally fun (I admit that I tend to write about more brooding topics on my own). I’m also trying my hand at Young Adult.  (As an aside, I’m gearing it towards 12-year-olds, and I can’t help but think that if they’re young adults, then adolescence has officially been eradicated.)

The first five days of November have already passed, and I am now at 10,000 words–about a day ahead of schedule.  So far, I haven’t compromised my editorial self too badly, but I have needed to push through sections that I would have otherwise preened a little more without a deadline.

As I did in 2012, I will be pasting daily excerpts here, with a glut of 5 excerpts to follow immediately for the days that have already passed.

About jackfrey
Jack Frey lives somewhere in Northeast Asia with his wife and two young boys. He finds the letter K to be the most aesthetically pleasing of all the consonants, in both its upper and lowercase forms. Like many of us, he is currently seeking publication of his first novel.

Leave a Reply

