NaNoWriMo: Zoonosis Day 1

To keep myself motivated (and to hold myself to my own goal of sticking with NaNoWriMo), I’m going to be posting a blurb from each day’s writing here. Today I wrote the first chapter, which came out at 3,089 words. I’m sure I won’t always be so diligent, but I was in the zone, and I’d been thinking about the chapter for all of October. It was time to get it on paper!

Here’s a blurb:

Vavilov was dangerously close to the remains of the rig now. His head was tilted back, eyes upwards, locked on the fan of water and ice. The flow showed no signs of lessening. The rig itself was encased in a thick layer of ice, looking more like the base of a translucent volcano than part of a scientific station. Only a few pipes and steel beams jutted out of the ice, and from these, streams of water flowed.

“Grigoriy, come back,” cried Nikolayev. “You’ll be killed.”

—–

In Chapter 2, I’ll introduce the main characters, which should be fun.  Check back tomorrow for Blurb 2.

About jackfrey
Jack Frey lives somewhere in Northeast Asia with his wife and two young boys. He finds the letter K to be the most aesthetically pleasing of all the consonants, in both its upper and lowercase forms. Like many of us, he is currently seeking publication of his first novel.

Leave a Reply

